Scholastic Games Archived radio high school quiz programs

May 26, 2021

16 News Release – SF2- Amherst Steele vs. Avon HS

Filed under: — admin @ 7:35 pm

FOR RELEASE: 5/18/2021 -Contact: Jim Mehrling 440-234-6021


Two excellent as well as well-matched academic teams maintained close to tied scores throughout the second semifinal of the WEOL Scholastic Games, the weekly radio quiz show featuring Lorain County high schools. Avon maintained a 10 point lead through rounds one through four only to see a come-from-behind victory by Amherst Steele in the final round of questions. Steele will face Lake Ridge Academy in the program’s championship to be broadcast on Monday, May 24, from 6 to 7 p.m. (on WEOL, AM930 and FM100.3).

The winning Steele panel consisted of Donald Theisen, Grant Sooy, and team captain John Perez-Strohmeyer, a sophomore who earned his third Standout Scholar Award in this competition. The honor, which includes a $50 prize, is presented on each week’s program from a vote of scorekeepers to name the student who contributed the most to his or her team . The Avon team consisted of team captain Sam Golic, Lindsay McKenna and Liam McCarthy, a previous winner of two Standout awards.

The closeness of the score was a unique factor in this crucial contest, leaving the outcome in question until the final moments of the competition. In the first round Avon outscored Amherst by one question, giving them a ten-point lead (40 to 30), and then the two teams scored equal numbers of points in the next three rounds, first on current events, then in a theme round on medical specialties.

Even in the fourth round the teams scored equally, which is extremely unusual. In that round, big scores can come to students who can respond to factual clues that are deliberately obscure at first. Up to five clues are provided for each answer. A correct answer to a first clue yields fifty points, the last only ten. Steele’s Strohmeyer scored thirty points from the third clue about apartheid. Then Avon’s McCarthy scored thirty from clues about Oxford University. Then Strohmeyer scored again with forty points for identifying Henry David Thoreau. Then clues about North Dakota eluded both teams as, in turn, they answered South Dakota and Montana. Next was the final item which yielded forty points to Avon’s McKenna for naming Aaron Burr. The round totals were 70 points per team, preserving Avon’s ten-point lead, now 200 to 190.

It came down to the final round, over nine minutes of alternating questions, with opportunities to score on the opposite teams missed questions and bonus scores possible following correct answers. Here is where Amherst emerged as the winner after trailing through all of the previous rounds. And it was here that Perez-Strohmeyer emerged as a “standout,” as his team significantly outscore their opponents in that final round.

Academic teams are all under the supervision of faculty advisors, who deserve much credit for their dedication to team preparation, particularly when those teams reach the playoff level. Advisor for the Avon team is Todd Sayers, and the advisor for Steele is Alexander Baldwin. On the next broadcast Amherst Steele will face Lake Ridge Academy. Both schools have won two championships in the history of Scholastic Games but it has been several years since for both.

The Scholastic Games series began in the fall of 1990 with the support of Nordson Corporation and has continued on radio station WEOL during every school year since. Operating under the auspices of the Community West Foundation, in addition to Nordson Corporation, the program has received support this year from the Alfred T. Askew Fund of the Community Foundation of Lorain County, and from the Nord Family Foundation. The Elyria Public Library System has been sponsoring the program on WEOL and providing venue space for program sessions for several years.

Following broadcast, and offer the programs as “podcasts,” which make the programs available on the World Wide Web. Through the years, all public and private high schools have been invited to compete. May’s academic championship will conclude the Scholastic Games’ 31st season.

Over the years, twelve different schools have won the championships, including Amherst Steele (1991, 2015), Elyria (1992, 93, 94, 97, 2000), Admiral King (1995, 1998), Oberlin (1996), North Ridgeville (1999, 2002), Avon Lake (2001, 05, 20), Midview (2003), Keystone (2004), Lake Ridge Acad. (2006, 10), Vermilion (2007, 08), Avon (2009, 16, 17,19), and Olmsted Falls (2011, 12, 13, 14, 18).

Area colleges and universities participate by providing $1000 tuition credit awards for allocation by participating high schools. Participating for all or most of the program’s thirty-year history were Lorain County Community College, Oberlin College, Ursuline College, Ashland University, Baldwin Wallace University, Case Western Reserve, Heidelberg University, John Carroll University, with more recent additional awards from the University of Findlay, Lake Erie College, Tiffin University and Notre Dame College of Ohio.

A member of the Broadcasters Hall of Fame of Akron and Cleveland, the program’s host and producer, Jim Mehrling, is a veteran northeast Ohio broadcaster. After seven years as Chief Announcer at WEOL, he was Production Manager at Cleveland’s WERE-AM for over a decade, and filled a similar role with Cleveland’s WCLV-FM for over 25 years. He is recipient of a 2019 President’s Award from the Cleveland Association of Broadcasters. Again this year, most Scholastic Games programs are followed by a talk feature, “Dialogues in Education,” which presents education success stories with its host, award-winning journalist Bob Tayek.


No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Powered by WordPress