Scholastic Games Archived radio high school quiz programs

April 22, 2021

13 News Release – QF: Amherst vs. Olmsted Falls

Filed under: — admin @ 2:43 pm

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 4/20/2021 Contact: Jim Mehrling 440-234-6021


The academic team from Amherst’s Marion L. Steele High School defeated Olmsted Falls High in the third quarterfinal program of Scholastic Games, the weekly quiz competition between Lorain County high schools. The program is heard Mondays, from 6-7 p.m., on WEOL (AM930 and FM 100.3). The Olmsted Falls team, which had achieved one of the top scores in a preliminary round, provided strong opposition, but the Amherst team maintained a lead throughout the five rounds of questions, ending with a 280 to 190 winning score.

Representing Steele were Lia Morrison, Donald Theisen, and team captain John Perez-Strohmeyer, who earned his second Standout Scholar Award. Each of these weekly honors includes a $50 prize, and is presented to the student who contributed the most to his or her team according to a vote of judges and scorekeepers. The Falls team consisted of Rachel Allen, Elena Strozewski, and team captain David Vidovich.

The first round of questions contained answers beginning with the letter “Y,” ranging from yogurt to Yugoslavia. Amherst ended the round with a 40 to 10 lead. Both teams followed with near-perfect Current Events rounds, maintaining Amherst’s lead, 80-50. Falls excelled in the “Theme Round,” the subject of which was South American countries, narrowing the Amherst lead to only 10 points with a 120 to 110 score.

The often-decisive fourth round saw both teams doing well, but again, Steele had the edge. In this round, each of five answers follows up to five clues. A correct answer to a first clue yields fifty points, with diminishing point values for additional clues. If still unanswered, each series ends with a final clue worth ten points. Amherst’s Perez-Strohmeyer made the biggest score of 40 points by naming President Martin VanBuren after only two clues. He added twenty from clues about scientist Edwin Hubble.

Olmsted Falls’ Vidovich scored twice as well, naming Hong Kong for thirty points and Handel for ten, after an audio clip of the “Hallelujah Chorus” was played. Clues about the ACLU yielded names of government agencies from both teams, so no points resulted. Going into the final round, Amherst led 180 to 150, with victory still within striking distance for both teams.

It was the final round that settled the outcome. It consisted of nine minutes of ten-point questions alternating between teams. Correct answers yielded twenty-point bonus questions, and unanswered or incorrectly answered questions were offered to the opposing team. Point deductions resulted from incorrect responses. Amherst piled on 100 points in that round as Olmsted Falls added forty.

Steele’s victory advances the team to a semifinal to be aired on May 17th. On quarterfinal remains to be presented next Monday. Academic teams are all under the supervision of faculty advisors, who deserve much credit for their dedication to team preparation, particularly when those teams reach the playoff level. Advisor for the Amherst Steele team is Alexander Baldwin, and co-advisors for Olmsted Falls are Erin McCreery and Alexandra Flanigan.

Amherst Steele has won the Scholastic Games championship twice, first in the program’s very first season in 1991, and again in 2015. It has one more bridge to cross prior to this year’s final competition, as can be noted in the schedule of remaining broadcasts. Steele is one of two quarterfinalists who have competed earlier this year, and that program will be rebroadcast during a hiatus week prior to the semifinals.

April 26th – Lake Ridge Academy vs. Oberlin

May 3rd – A rebroadcast: Amherst vs. Lake Ridge from earlier this year: If both Lake Ridge and Amherst continue to win, the two teams will meet again in the championship.

May 10th – SEMIFINAL: North Ridgeville vs. Apr. 26 winner

May 17th – SEMIFINAL: Avon vs. Amherst Steele

May 24th – Championship

Scholastic Games began in the fall of 1990 with the support of Nordson Corporation and has continued on radio station WEOL during every school year since. Operating under the auspices of the Community West Foundation, in addition to Nordson Corporation, the program has received support this year from the Alfred T. Askew Fund of the Community Foundation of Lorain County, and from the Nord Family Foundation. The Elyria Public Library System has been sponsoring the program on WEOL and providing venue space for program sessions for several years.

Following broadcast, and offer the programs as “podcasts,” which make the programs available on the World Wide Web. Through the years, all public and private high schools have been invited to compete. May’s academic championship will conclude the Scholastic Games’ 31st season.

Over the years, twelve different schools have won the championships, including Amherst Steele (1991, 2015), Elyria (1992, 93, 94, 97, 2000), Admiral King (1995, 1998), Oberlin (1996), North Ridgeville (1999, 2002), Avon Lake (2001, 05, 20), Midview (2003), Keystone (2004), Lake Ridge Acad. (2006, 10), Vermilion (2007, 08), Avon (2009, 16, 17,19), and Olmsted Falls (2011, 12, 13, 14, 18).

Area colleges and universities participate by providing $1000 tuition credit awards for allocation by participating high schools. Participating for all or most of the program’s thirty-year history were Lorain County Community College, Oberlin College, Ursuline College, Ashland University, Baldwin Wallace University, Case Western Reserve, Heidelberg University, John Carroll University, with more recent additional awards from the University of Findlay, Lake Erie College, Tiffin University and Notre Dame College of Ohio.

A member of the Broadcasters Hall of Fame of Akron and Cleveland, the program’s host and producer, Jim Mehrling, is a veteran northeast Ohio broadcaster. After seven years as Chief Announcer at WEOL, he was Production Manager at Cleveland’s WERE-AM for over a decade, and filled a similar role with Cleveland’s WCLV-FM for over 25 years. He is recipient of a 2019 President’s Award from the Cleveland Association of Broadcasters. Again this year, most Scholastic Games programs are followed by a talk feature, “Dialogues in Education,” which presents education success stories with its host, award-winning journalist Bob Tayek.



BEREA, OH, 44017-2449, telephone 440-234-6021 (leave message)

Attached Photos:

1 -The teams in screen shots: Amherst Marion L. Steele High School, left to right, D. J. Theisen, Lia Morrison and John Perez-Strohmeyer; and Olmsted Falls High School, left to right, David Vidovich, Rachel Allen, and Elena Strozewski.

2. Standout Scholar winner John Perez-Strohmeyer of Amherst Steele High School was so honored for the second time.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Powered by WordPress